Meeting of Religions and the Trinity

Meeting of Religions and the Trinity

One of the most discussed topics of our time is Christianity's relation to other religions. In this important new book, one of Britain's leading contemporary theologians develops a sharp and penetrating critique of the pluralist position. In the tradition of Alasdair MacIntyre and John Milbank, D'Costa shows that too often it masks a secularizing agenda, traceable to the worst apects of Enlightenment modernity. Even by its own criteria, pluralism does not succeed. D'Costa demonstrates this by exploring the 'meeting of the religions' in its leading exponents from Christianity, Judaism, Hinduism and Buddhism. He discovers the influence of Western modernist thought or else a veiled exclusivism not only in Hick, Knitter, Cohn-Sherbok and Panikkar, but even in Radhakrishnan and the Dalai Lama. He then goes on to establish an alternative Trinitarian approach to interreligious prayer and tolerance, drawing on recent discussions of other religions as 'vehicles of salvation'. The final section of the book represents the first major systematic theological study of interfaith prayer.

Download Now

Author
Publisher A&C Black
Release Date
ISBN 9780567087300
Pages 459 pages
Rating 4/5 (01 users)

More Books:

Meeting of Religions and the Trinity
Language: en
Pages: 459
Authors: Gavin D'Costa
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2000-06-29 - Publisher: A&C Black

GET EBOOK

One of the most discussed topics of our time is Christianity's relation to other religions. In this important new book, one of Britain's leading contemporary th
The Encyclodedia of Christianity, Vol. 5
Language: en
Pages: 896
Authors: Erwin Fahlbusch
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2008-02-14 - Publisher: Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing

GET EBOOK

A monumental reference work that addresses the broad interest in Christianity and religion around the world describes the Christian faith and community in their
Rethinking the Trinity and Religious Pluralism
Language: en
Pages: 286
Authors: Keith E. Johnson
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-09-02 - Publisher: InterVarsity Press

GET EBOOK

Founding his argument on a close reading of St. Augustine s De Trinitate, Keith Johnson critiques four recent attempts to construct a pluralistic theology of re
Trinity and Religious Pluralism
Language: en
Pages: 204
Authors: Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-09-29 - Publisher: Routledge

GET EBOOK

The doctrine of the Trinity is one of the most distinguishing marks of Christian faith. This is the first book to present an overview of the role of the Trinity
Christianity and World Religions
Language: en
Pages: 248
Authors: Gavin D'Costa
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-03-12 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

GET EBOOK

An engaging and accessible introduction to Christianity’srelationship with other world religions, addressing the questionsof why the reality, and vitality, of
Christians Meeting Hindus
Language: en
Pages: 392
Authors: Bob Robinson
Categories: Christianity and culture
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher: OCMS

GET EBOOK

"With rare exceptions, serious intentional, reflective and sustained inter-faith encounter is a novel and recent enterprise. This book looks in detail at one su
Understanding Religious Pluralism
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Peter C. Phan
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-08-01 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

GET EBOOK

Our contemporary world is fast becoming religiously diverse in a variety of ways. Thanks to globalization and migration, to mention only two current worldwide t
Theological Renewal for the Third Millennium
Language: en
Pages: 353
Authors: Veli-Matti Karkkainen
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2022-08-12 - Publisher: Wipf and Stock Publishers

GET EBOOK

Amos Yong has stated that Veli-Matti Kärkkäinen has become “one of the more important theologians to be reckoned with in our time.” This becoming has deve
The Past, Present, and Future of Theologies of Interreligious Dialogue
Language: en
Pages: 280
Authors: Terrence Merrigan
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-03-17 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

GET EBOOK

The Past, Present and Future of Theology of Interreligious Dialogue brings together several of the most widely regarded specialists who have contributed to theo
Philosophical Perspectives on Religious Diversity
Language: en
Pages: 120
Authors: Dirk-Martin Grube
Categories: Religion
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-10-19 - Publisher: Routledge

GET EBOOK

Addressing the question of what kind of theoretical foundations are required if we wish to have a constructive attitude towards different religions, this book s